The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson
Audio 20.5 hrs (16 discs)
published by Random House Audio
ISBN-13: 9780739384190

Type: {Airplane Read: makes time fly.}
Rating: {I’m Lovin’ It: Very entertaining!}

Why You’re Reading It:

  • You’ve already read the first two books in the series and want to see how the series concludes.
  • You just can’t get enough of Lisbeth Salander.
  • You love powerful (almost action hero) female leads.
  • There’s something about Swedish characters that you find refreshing.

What I Thought:

If you can remember, I loved the first installment of this series. The second book had me yawning, so I was hesitant to pick up the third – but I wanted to finish the series. I’m glad I did. This book had the same feel to it that the first one did. Lisbeth is back in action, her intellect and cunningness are prominent in this book. I cared more about what happened in this book than in the second, and I was entertained the whole way through – even with its serious length. There’s a trial, a pervy stalker, a fight scene, and a conclusion that will satisfy readers who have spent time with Lisbeth Salander and Mikael Blomkvist.

Simon Vance does a good job with the voices and keeps the prose rolling.

There’s not much more I can say about this book without giving plot points away as much of the plot is contingent of things that are revealed throughout the book. All I can say is that if you liked the first book, you’ll like this one too.

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson

  1. This is super interesting! My favorite was the second. This first part of the first one I found it slow… the second book to me was fast and surprising, and the 3rd was good, but I was already expecting some of the events. Still, I loved this trilogy and it’s a pity this author is gone. I’m sure he would have a strong opinion about what’s going on in Europe and in the world around this so called economical crisis. Cheers!

    • I remember you saying that (about the 2nd one), I think. Isn’t it funny what strikes different people? Part of why I love this series is because of the differences in cultures. The first and third book had more apparent references to the Swedish culture than the 2nd one did – and I think that’s why I liked it. You probably aren’t as impressed by that as it’s not as foreign to you, maybe. Have you read Jo Nesbo? Ti (from Book Chatter) is obsessed with him. Those are the next thrillers on my list.

  2. I am one of those rare readers who just didn’t really care for The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I wound up watching the Swedish film of it a while later and MUCH preferred it to the book; I felt like it cut out all the extraneous/boring bits and created a much tighter story. I did also watch the film of the second book, which I thought was less believable and kind of weird… I’ll probably watch the third movie at some point, but not sure I’ll read anything more by Stieg Larsson (not that there’s that much to read apart from this trilogy!).

    • I get that. I really was bored with the second book… did a lot of speed reading (as well as with the beginning of the first book). I also watched the first two movies and thought they did a fantastic job — will plan to watch the 3rd now that I’m done (and know I won’t be able to resist watching the US version as well, just to compare). Have you read Jo Nesbo? Ti (from Book Chatter) loves him… he might be a better fit for you? I’m planning on reading him soon.

  3. I remember liking each of the books less than the first, but yes…having Lisbeth back in action helped quite a bit.

    I can’t wait to see the movie!! Well, the US version as I’ve seen the others which were great.

    • Me too — can’t wait to see how they do them (and which versions we think are better). So, I’ve told the last few commenters to try Jo Nesbo per your suggestion. I have Snowman (I think that’s the title) with me. Am up at my mom’s. Going to try to start it in the not-too-distant future.

  4. Pingback: Top Ten :: Books of Summer 2011 « Unputdownables

Leave a comment